55th Fleur du Cap theatre awards winners announced


THE winners of this year’s Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards reflected a dynamic, healthy mix of emergent and established local talent, in the view of panel judging chair Africa Melane. “The tough economic times of recent years did not rob theatre and opera lovers of an exceptional quality of productions mounted. The panel and I were once again blown away by what was on offer, especially the new South African works. It demonstrates that talent will flourish regardless of the circumstances.

“From the avant garde to more mainstream entertainment, from exciting new names to seasoned stars and other specialists of the stage, this year’s winners highlight the thrilling and world-class standard of what is on offer to local audiences. We are truly fortunate.”

Kinky Boots, staged at The Fugard Theatre, was the indisputable favourite of the judges, taking a total of six awards. Scott won three, with writer and director Morapeleng Molekoa winning two of these, while G7: Okwe Bokhwe (Like/Of a Goat) also won three, and The Glass Menagerie, two awards.

Kinky Boots

This year’s Lifetime Achievement award honoured veteran playwright, director, actor and educator Fatima (Fatts) Dike. Summing up the panel’s comments, Melane said: “She has been instrumental in opening the doors of theatre to all. She educated herself in exile during the struggle, she defied and challenged the laws of segregation and she exposed the abomination of apartheid. We thank her for never abandoning her roots in Langa. Long may she continue to paint with words”.

The Innovation Award went to Junkets Publisher’s Robin Malan and Andi Mgibantaka for their contribution to theatre arts, literature and education. Across its range of imprints, said Melane, the publishing house had continued to promote new writers and ideas, also always providing a platform for the expression of diversity and sexual minorities.

He also mentioned that the organisers had decided to replace the Fleur du Cap medallion awarded to Taliep Petersen in 1999. Won for Kat And The Kings as best contribution to a musical or revue, it had been stolen from the late composer’s family home in December.

Alan Committie – Richard III

Of the 59 productions in the running for top honours in this, the 55th year of the awards, the winners were:

Best new South African script: Morapeleng Molekoa | Scott

Best new director: Morapeleng Molekoa | Scott

Best theatre production for children and young people: Lumka

Best performance by an ensemble: Abigail Mei, Carlo Daniels, Luxolo Mboso, Siyavuya Gqumehlo, Sivenathi Macibela, Sizwe Lubengu, Sityhilelo Makupula, Yvonne Msebenzi | G7: Okwe Bokhwe (Like/Of a Goat) | Various roles

Best performance in a revue, cabaret or one-person show: Tafara Nyatsanza | Scott | Various roles

Best performance by a supporting actor in a musical or music theatre show: Tshepo Ncokoane | Kinky Boots | Angel

Best performance by a supporting actress in a musical or music theatre show: Namisa Mdlalose | Kinky Boots | Lauren

Best performance by a lead actor in a musical or music theatre show: Earl Gregory | Kinky Boots | Lola

Best performance by a lead actress in a musical or music theatre show: Zolani Mahola | The One Who Sings | Herself

Best puppetry design: Jenine Collocott | The Old Man and the Sea | Masks

Best lighting design: Fred Abrahamse | Equus

Best set design: Paul Wills | Kinky Boots

Best costume design: Birrie le Roux | Kinky Boots

Best sound design, original music, soundscape or live performance: Babalwa Makwetu | G7: Okwe Bokhwe (Like/Of a Goat)

Best performance in an opera – male: Bongani Kubheka | La Serva Padrona | Uberto

Best performance in an opera – female: Siphokazi Molteno | I Capuleti e I Montecchio | Romeo

Best performance by a supporting actor in a play: David Viviers | Cellist with Rabies | Rabies Virus

Best performance by supporting actress in a play: Jenny Stead | The Glass Menagerie | Laura Wingfield

Best performance by lead actress in a play: Fiona Ramsay | The Glass Menagerie | Amanda Wingfield

Best performance by lead actor in a play: Alan Committie | Richard III

Best director: Mandla Mbothwe | G7: Okwe Bokhwe (Like/Of a Goat)

Best production: Eric Abraham and The Fugard Theatre | Kinky Boots

Award for innovation in theatre: Junkets Publisher | Robin Malan and Andi Mgibantaka

Lifetime Achievement award: Fatima Dike

Award for most promising student: Cantona James | Stellenbosch University

The judging panel, all respected experts in their fields, from critics to journalists, writers and drama educators, included Dr Beverley Brommert, Maurice Carpede, Marina Griebenow, Thabo Makgolo, Mariana Malan, Roxy Marosa, Dr Wayne Muller, Tracey Saunders, Lwando Scott and Hadley Titus, with Africa Melane as non-voting chair.

Winners each receive R15 000 and a silver medallion.

Follow Distell on Twitter (@DistellGroup), Facebook (@DistellGroup) and Youtube (@DistellGroup). Follow the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards on Facebook (@FleurduCap) and Twitter (@FDCTheatreAward). Join the conversation and use the hashtag: #FdCTheatreAwards2020

You might also like
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments